Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

“Hello.” “Hey, what’s up I’m Naveen.” “Hi, what’s your name?” These are three phrases I have been getting used to saying on a regular basis for the past few days. Being in a new country, at a new university, with brand new people has been a little bit of a shock to me to be completely honest. I’d like to think I’m considered to be pretty personable. I love meeting new people and making new friends because it allows me to foster new connections and memories. With that being said trying to meet new people in a different country is extremely interesting in both good and bad ways. I am fortunate and I mean fortunate that I’m doing this experience with a few other great guys. Some may believe that one needs to explore the world by themselves and have this life changing moment of being tossed into a unfamiliar environment and while I do agree with this for the most part, it is also extremely comforting to be able to say, “Man I miss Papa Dels deep dish.” and people know what in the world you’re saying. It’s interesting to see where I find comfort here in Singapore. When walking around campus the past few days my friends and I have gotten into this habit of when we see a person with white skin striking up a conversation. To some that might seem absurd but what I realized is that sub-consciously we are associating their skin color with what reminds us of home. This instant assumption is something that I believe needs to be over came but with that being said currently there are really only international students on campus so once the school year starts I’m hoping that meeting new friends of all walks of life will become a daily occurrence. I somewhat feel like this is my second chance at a “freshmen year.” As some may know, my first semester of my freshmen year was a not so great time thanks to a over weight, overly messy roommate that thought that wearing my medium t-shirts on his extra-large body was an appropriate thing do along with so many other just aggravating situations. The reason I say that I’m getting a second chance though is due to the fact that I’m living in the dorms, I’m eating in a cafeteria, I’m taking classes that as of this moment make me excited and I’m being forced whether I like it or not to meet new people while exploring a city that I’ve never been too. Much like freshmen year I haven’t slept as much as I should these past few nights. I’ve stayed up late thinking. Thinking about if it was the right decision to just pack up life and go overseas. I really need to stop thinking. This life needs a little more time for adjustment. A little more time to get used to the fact that I’m only three days into this whole thing and got 137 more in front of me. I miss many, love few and realize that in due time though I know everything will work out.